November 16th — November 17th, 2022

Member Boards Connect – Virtual! | November 16 — November 17 | Virtual

MBC2022 1200x400VIRTUAL

A Special Event for Member Boards and ABMS Staff only

Wednesday, November 16 — Virtual Reality: Member Boards Connect in a Hybrid World

(11:00 am – 3:30 pm ET, 10:00 am – 2:30 pm CT, 9:00 am – 1:30 pm MT, 8:00 am – 12:30 pm PT)
 
10:00 – 11:30 am (all times Central Time)
Plenary: Member Boards Connect in a Hybrid World
Session Moderator: Angela McGoff, Associate Executive Director, Certification Services, American Board of Emergency Medicine, and Member Boards Connect 2022 Chair

  • First Panel: Staff Perspectives
    • Fully Remote: Beth Ann Comber, Administrator, American Board of Ophthalmology
    • Hybrid: Michele J. Wall, MA, PMP Vice President, Operations, American Board of Pediatrics
    • In-Person: Kevin Rode, BA, PMP, American Board of Family Medicine
  • Second Panel: Volunteer Management
    • Overview of Going Remote to Hybrid to In-Person: Dee Hill, ELS, MOC Content Editor, American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    • Moving from In-Person to Remote to Hybrid … and Back to In-Person: Dan Pastorius, Exam Development Manager and Diana Breidenstein, Exam Development Coordinator, American Board of Ophthalmology
  • Third Panel: Diplomates
    • Virtual: David Laszakovits, Director of Communications American Board of Radiology
    • In-Person: David F. Martin, MD, Executive Director, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

Noon – 1:00 pm
Breakout Groups
Session Moderator: Amy Olson, Project Coordinator, Vice-Chair, American Board of Pediatrics

  • Communications
  • Diplomate Support/Customer Service
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Human Resources: Managing Hybrid Staff – Employee Engagement and Resources
  • Information Technology
  • Operations
  • Remote Exams: Oral and Written
  • Research
  • Volunteer Management

1:30 – 2:30 pm
Plenary: Managing Remote Employees & Volunteers
Session Moderator: Rodney Campbell, Communications Manager, American Board of Radiology, and Member Boards Connect Advisory Group Member
Guest Speaker: Susan Vroman, EdD, Lecturer of Management, Bentley University

Thursday, November 17 — The Importance of Board Certification: Communication, Education and Engagement

(12:00 – 4:30 pm ET, 11:00 am – 3:30 pm CT, 10:00 am – 2:30 pm MT, 9:00 am – 1:30 pm PT)

11:00 am – 12:30 pm (all times Central Time)
Plenary: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion – The Importance of Communication, Education and Engagement
Session Moderator – David Elstein, Manager, Education and Communication, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Member Boards Connect Advisory Group Member

  • ABS Approach to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)
    • Ada Okafor, JD, Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, General Counsel, American Board of Surgery
  • Investigating and Responding to Performance Disparities on Board Certification Examination
    • Thomas O’Neill, PhD, Vice President of Psychometrics, American Board of Family Medicine
    • Ting Wang, PhD, Senior Psychometrician, American Board of Family Medicine
    • Andrew Dwyer, PhD, Director, Psychometrics, American Board of Pediatrics
  • Haley Academy
    • Colleen Livingston, Medical Affairs Administrator, American Board of Emergency Medicine

1:00 – 2:00 pm

Promoting the Value of Certification
Session Moderator: Alix McKay, MOCA-Peds Program Manager, American Board of Pediatrics, Member Boards Connect Advisory Group Member

  • Value of Certification
    • A.J. Wolf, Marketing Manager, American Board of Emergency Medicine
    • Sarah Sopcak, Digital Media and Marketing Specialist, American Board of Emergency Medicine
  • Resident Engagement
    • Mona Saniei, Graduate and Professional Education Specialist, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Reaching Out to Patients and Families
    • Mike Adams, MS, Director of Communications, American Board of Pediatrics

2:30 – 3:30 pm

Q&A Town Hall
Session Moderator – Angela McGoff, Associate Executive Director, Certification Services, American Board of Emergency Medicine, and Member Boards Connect 2022 Chair
Richard E. Hawkins, MD, ABMS President and CEO

For information about registering, please contact Ilya Samovskiy

Content subject to change.

Event Details

  • Date

    November 16th — November 17th, 2022

  • Location

    Virtual