

American Board of Medical Specialties 353 North Clark Street, Suite 1400 Chicago, IL 60654

T: (312) 436-2600 F: (312) 436-2700

www.abms.org

American Board of Medical Specialties Statement Regarding the Continuing Board Certification: Vision for the Future Commission Draft Report for Public Comment

The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and its 24 Member Boards commend the members of the Continuing Board Certification: Vision of the Future Commission (Commission) for their dedication and hard work in creating the draft findings and recommendations report. We appreciate the diligent, transparent, inclusive, and thoughtful approach taken throughout the process.

We also want to thank the Planning Committee Co-Chairs Lois Margaret Nora, MD, JD, MBA, and Norman B. Kahn, Jr., MD, as well as Commission Co-Chairs Christopher Colenda, MD, MPH, and William Scanlon, PhD, for their leadership and oversight of the Vision Initiative process. In addition, we want to acknowledge all who offered testimony, shared best practices, participated in the stakeholder survey, shared ideas, and were engaged with the Vision Initiative. Their contributions were of great value and had an enormous impact in forming the Commission's draft report.

As a Member Boards Community, we are committed to working with our stakeholders to improve the continuing certification process so that it becomes a system that demonstrates the profession's commitment to professional self-regulation, offers a consistent and clear understanding of what continuing certification means, and establishes a meaningful, relevant, and valuable program that meets the highest standard of quality patient care. The Boards look forward to receiving the Commission's recommendations once finalized and expect they will be of immense value as we continue to improve continuing certification in the interests of the public and the profession.

As a Boards Community, we encourage all of our stakeholders to review the draft findings and recommendations and offer their comments by the established January 15, 2019 deadline.