

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For More Information: info@visioninitiative.org

## Continuing Board Certification: Vision for the Future Initiative Selects Commission Members

Commission members, representing a broad cross section of physicians and other stakeholders, to reenvision continuing certification for the future

**CHICAGO – February 5, 2018 –** The <u>Planning Committee</u> of the <u>Continuing Board</u> <u>Certification: Vision for the Future initiative</u> (Vision Initiative) announced today the members who will comprise the <u>Vision Initiative Commission</u> (Commission). The newly selected Commission members will be responsible for assessing the status of continuing board certification and making recommendations to help enable the current process to become a system that demonstrates the profession's commitment to professional self-regulation, offers a consistent and clear understanding of what continuing certification means, and establishes a meaningful, relevant and valuable program that meets the highest standard of quality patient care.

A total of 176 completed nominations from 42 states were submitted, representing a diverse group of stakeholder communities, including physicians from a wide variety of specialties and practice settings. Nominations for individuals from national specialty and state medical societies, hospitals and health systems, health care organizations, and the general public were received.

The <u>distinguished members</u> of the Vision Initiative Commission include:

- Roxie M. Albrecht, MD, FACS, FCCM
- Jann T. Balmer, RN, PhD
- Carol D. Berkowitz, MD, FAAP, FACEP
- Haywood L. Brown, MD
- Craig M. Campbell, MD, FRCPC, (Ex Officio)
- Davoren Chick, MD, FACP
- Carol Cronin
- Charles Cutler, MD, MACP

- Patricia (Patti) Davis
- Claudia M. Espinosa, MD, MSC, FAAP
- Geoffrey M. Fleming, MD
- Nitika A. Gupta, MBBS, DCH, DNB, MRCPCH
- Ole-Petter R. Hamnvik, MBBCh, BAO, MMSc
- Elspeth J. R. Hill, MD, PhD
- Ronald B. Hirschl, MD
- Paul E. Johnson, MD, FACS
- Bruce A. Leff, MD
- Colonel Michael R. Nelson, MD, PhD
- Donald J. Palmisano, Jr., JD
- Earl J. Reisdorff, MD
- Andrea M. Russo, MD, FACC, FHRS
- Catherine M. Rydell, CAE
- Thomas L. Schwenk, MD
- David A. Swankin, JD
- George D. Wendel Jr., MD

The Co-Chairs of the Commission are Christopher Colenda, MD, MPH and William Scanlon, PhD.

The Commission will begin by conducting a comprehensive assessment of the current continuing board certification system. Feedback will be obtained from various stakeholders through multiple methods including a <u>survey</u> that is now open for input. The Commission will hold hearings and seek feedback on concepts and ideas during the process and will periodically release public reports about their findings. The Commission's final recommendations will be submitted to the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) and its Member Boards on February 1, 2019.

The Vision Initiative website (visioninitiative.org) serves as a central reference point for the Vision Initiative and includes updates, information, and reports from the Planning Committee and Commission. It also allows stakeholders to actively engage in the process through a dedicated section for <u>feedback and input</u>. Stakeholders interested in sharing their feedback, ideas and suggestions are encouraged to submit their comments directly via the site.

###