ABMS Visiting Scholars Research

Research impact is real change in the real world. The ABMS Visiting Scholars Program™ offers a pathway for early career physicians and research professionals to develop new skills and capabilities, demonstrating their ability to create impact, which could become central to career progression and institutional reputation. Meet the ABMS Visiting Scholars from each cohort and learn about their research.

2019-2020 | 2018-2019 | 2017-2018 | 2016-2017 | 2015-2016 | 2014-2015


2019 2020 abms visiting scholars 800px

2019-2020, from left: Maya Iyer, MD, MEd; Laura Kim, MD; Rachel Frank, MD; and Trisha Marshall, MD

The 2019-2020 Scholars and their Research

  • Rachel Frank, MD, Assistant Professor, University of Colorado, ABMS-ABOS Visiting Scholar
    • Research Project: Is there a Ceiling Effect in Virtual Reality Orthopaedic Surgical Simulators: A Prospective Clinical Trial
  • Maya Iyer, MD, MEd, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
    • Research Project: The Procedural Practice Perspective of General Pediatricians
  • Laura Kim, MD, Health Professions Education Evaluation and Research Fellow, VHA National Simulation Center (SimLEARN), VA-funded Visiting Scholar
    • Research Project: Exploration of how MOCA simulations can impact future VA educational and policy efforts
  • Trisha Marshall, MD, Pediatric Hospital Medicine Fellow, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Co-sponsored by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
    • Research Project: Developing Tools to Identify Diagnostic Uncertainty in the Electronic Health Record


2018 2019 visiting scholars conf 2018 800px

2018-2019, from left: Victoria Wurster Ovalle, MD; Brenessa Lindeman, MD, MEHP; Brian George, MD, MA; Kevin Cullison, MD; Caitlin Hicks, MD, MS; and Amy Cizik, PhD, MPH. Not pictured: Rodney Omron, MD, MPH

The 2018-2019 Scholars and their Research

  • Amy Cizik, PhD, MPH, Research Assistant Professor, University of Washington
  • Kevin Cullison, MD, Post-doctoral Research Fellow, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
    • Research Project: Development of Chief Complaint-Based Quality Measures for the Management of Emergency Department Patients with Chest Pain (Project supported by a grant to the ABMS Research and Education Foundation from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation.)
  • Brian George, MD, MA, Assistant Professor of Surgery, University of Michigan
    • Research Project: The Predictive Validity of the American Board of Surgery Examinations for Surgeon Performance
  • Caitlin Hicks, MD, MS, Vascular Surgery Fellow, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Brenessa Lindeman, MD, MEHP, Assistant Professor of Surgery and Medical Education, University of Alabama at Birmingham
    • Research Project: Entrustment as a Framework for Surgical Resident Assessment
  • Rodney Omron, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Victoria Wurster Ovalle, MD, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center


abms visiting scholars 2017 2018 710x380px 96ppi 1

2017-2018, from left: Johnathan Bernard, MD, MPH; Regan Bergmark, MD; Souvik Chatterjee, MD; Shannon Martin, MD, MS; Martin Casey, MD, MPH; and Brian Garibaldi, MD

The 2017-2018 Scholars and their Research


xu mannava nora davis price visit scholars 2016 17 800x458px 72p t 1

2016-2017, from left: Tim Xu, MD; Sandeep Mannava, MD; Lois Margaret Nora, MD (ABMS President and CEO); Joshua Davis, MD; and David Price, MD (Sr. Vice President, ABMS Research and Education Foundation)

The 2016-2017 Scholars and their Research


x5a2365 scholars nora price horowitz moorhead copy

2015-2016, back row from left: Lois Margaret Nora, MD (ABMS President and CEO); Nadia Huancahuari, MD, MA; Zachary Gordon, MD; Front row from left: David Price, MD (Sr. Vice President, ABMS Research and Education Foundation); John C. Moorhead, MD, (Chair, ABMS Board of Directors); Benjamin Wooster, MD. Not pictured: Maya Babu, MD, MBA

The 2015-2016 Scholars and their Research



2014-2015, back row from left: John C. Moorhead, MD, (Chair, ABMS Board of Directors); Sheldon Horowitz, MD; Iahn Gonsenhauser, MD; Daniel Schumacher, MD, MeD; front row from left: Stephanie Yi, MD, MS; Michelle Lin, MD, MPH; Valerie Parisi, MD; Lois Margaret Nora, MD (ABMS President and CEO); John G. Clarkson, MD (ABMS Board); Thomas E. Norris, MD, (ABMS Board). Not pictured: Joan Ko, MD

The 2014-2015 Scholars and their Research