ABMS Associate Members

ABMS works in collaboration with its Associate Members to improve the quality of graduate medical education, the standards of medical practice, and the physician certification process. The Associate Members of ABMS include:

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)

Approved as an Associate Member in 2004
ACCME sets and administers standards and criteria for providers of quality Continuing Medical Education (CME) for physicians and related professions. It has the responsibility for accrediting institutions and organizations offering CME and developing standards by which state medical societies will accredit local institutions and organizations.

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

Approved as an Associate Member in 2002
ACGME is responsible for the accreditation of post-MD medical training programs in the United States. Accreditation is accomplished through Residency Review Committees (RRCs) which process the actual accreditation of residency programs. The ACGME approves the standards and deals with appeals and administrative issues.

American Hospital Association (AHA)

Approved as an Associate Member in 1970
AHA is the national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks and their patients and communities. Through its representation and advocacy activities, AHA ensures that members' perspectives and needs are heard and addressed in national health policy development, legislative and regulatory debate, and judicial matters. AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends.

American Medical Association (AMA)

Approved as an Associate Member in 1989
As the nation's largest physician group, AMA advocates on the issues vital to the nation's health and health care system.

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Approved as an Associate Member in 1970
AAMC is a non-profit association of medical schools, teaching hospitals, and academic societies. The AAMC seeks to improve the nation's health by enhancing the effectiveness of academic medicine.

Council of Medical Specialty Societies (CMSS)

Approved as an Associate Member in 1973
CMSS serves to represent the views of specialist physicians in influencing policy, medical education and accreditation from a broad, cross-specialty perspective. Its membership is primarily comprised of United States medical specialty societies that represent physicians certified by an ABMS Member Board.

Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)

Approved as an Associate Member in 2002
Through a program of certification, ECFMG assesses the readiness of international medical graduates to enter accredited residency or fellowship programs in the United States.

Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)

Approved as an Associate Member in 1970
FSMB serves as the national voluntary association of all United States licensing and disciplinary boards. The organization promotes the adoption, maintenance and advancement of effective and uniform standards for licensure and discipline in medicine and the healing arts.

National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME)

Approved as an Associate Member in 1970
The central mission of NBME is to prepare and administer qualifying examinations, either independently or jointly with other organizations, of such high quality that legal agencies governing the practice of medicine within each state may, in their discretion, grant a license without further examination for those who have successfully completed such examinations.