Meet the ABMS Visiting Scholars

2019-2020 | 2018-2019 | 2017-2018 | 2016-2017 | 2015-2016 | 2014-2015


2019 2020 abms visiting scholars 800px

2019-2020, from left: Maya Iyer, MD, MEd; Laura Kim, MD; Rachel Frank, MD; and Trisha Marshall, MD

The 2019-2020 Scholars and their Research

  • Rachel Frank, MD, Assistant Professor, University of Colorado, ABMS-ABOS Visiting Scholar
    • Research Project: Is there a Ceiling Effect in Virtual Reality Orthopaedic Surgical Simulators: A Prospective Clinical Trial
  • Maya Iyer, MD, MEd, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
    • Research Project: The Procedural Practice Perspective of General Pediatricians
  • Laura Kim, MD, Health Professions Education Evaluation and Research Fellow, VHA National Simulation Center (SimLEARN), VA-funded Visiting Scholar
    • Research Project: Exploration of how MOCA simulations can impact future VA educational and policy efforts
  • Trisha Marshall, MD, Pediatric Hospital Medicine Fellow, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Co-sponsored by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
    • Research Project: Developing Tools to Identify Diagnostic Uncertainty in the Electronic Health Record


2018 2019 visiting scholars conf 2018 800px

2018-2019, from left: Victoria Wurster Ovalle, MD; Brenessa Lindeman, MD, MEHP; Brian George, MD, MA; Kevin Cullison, MD; Caitlin Hicks, MD, MS; and Amy Cizik, PhD, MPH. Not pictured: Rodney Omron, MD, MPH

The 2018-2019 Scholars and their Research

  • Amy Cizik, PhD, MPH, Research Assistant Professor, University of Washington
  • Kevin Cullison, MD, Post-doctoral Research Fellow, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
    • Research Project: Development of Chief Complaint-Based Quality Measures for the Management of Emergency Department Patients with Chest Pain (Project supported by a grant to the ABMS Research and Education Foundation from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation.)
  • Brian George, MD, MA, Assistant Professor of Surgery, University of Michigan
    • Research Project: The Predictive Validity of the American Board of Surgery Examinations for Surgeon Performance
  • Caitlin Hicks, MD, MS, Vascular Surgery Fellow, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    • Research Project: A Physician-to-Physician Approach to Reducing Unnecessary Procedures in Vascular Surgery
  • Brenessa Lindeman, MD, MEHP, Assistant Professor of Surgery and Medical Education, University of Alabama at Birmingham
    • Research Project: Entrustment as a Framework for Surgical Resident Assessment
  • Rodney Omron, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Victoria Wurster Ovalle, MD, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center


abms visiting scholars 2017 2018 710x380px 96ppi 1

2017-2018, from left: Johnathan Bernard, MD, MPH; Regan Bergmark, MD; Souvik Chatterjee, MD; Shannon Martin, MD, MS; Martin Casey, MD, MPH; and Brian Garibaldi, MD

The 2017-2018 Scholars and their Research

  • Regan Bergmark, MD, Gliklich Healthcare Innovation Scholar, Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts Eye and Ear®
    • Research Project: Standardized Health Outcomes Measures: Utilization by Specialty
  • Johnathan Bernard, MD, MPH, Attending, Sports Medicine and Shoulder Surgery, National Sports Medicine Institute, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
    • Research Project: The Role of Orthopaedic Surgery Milestones in Assessing Competency of Technical and Arthroscopic Skill of Residents; Development of a Cadaveric Surgical Model on Meniscal Injuries using Arthroscopic Video and Surgeon Point of View Recording (ABMS/ABOS Visiting Scholar)
  • Martin Casey, MD, MPH, Resident, Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai Hospital, Elmhurst Hospital
    • Research Project: Variation in Charges and Revisit Rates for Emergency Department Asthma Visits
  • Souvik Chatterjee, MD, Pulmonary Critical Care Fellow, National Institutes of Health, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
  • Brian Garibaldi, MD, Associate Program Director, Osler Medical Residency Program, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Shannon Martin, MD, MS, Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Chicago


xu mannava nora davis price visit scholars 2016 17 800x458px 72p t 1

2016-2017, from left: Tim Xu, MD; Sandeep Mannava, MD; Lois Margaret Nora, MD (ABMS President and CEO); Joshua Davis, MD; and David Price, MD (Sr. Vice President, ABMS Research and Education Foundation)

The 2016-2017 Scholars and their Research


x5a2365 scholars nora price horowitz moorhead copy

2015-2016, back row from left: Lois Margaret Nora, MD (ABMS President and CEO); Nadia Huancahuari, MD, MA; Zachary Gordon, MD; Front row from left: David Price, MD (Sr. Vice President, ABMS Research and Education Foundation); John C. Moorhead, MD, (Chair, ABMS Board of Directors); Benjamin Wooster, MD. Not pictured: Maya Babu, MD, MBA

The 2015-2016 Scholars and their Research



2014-2015, back row from left: John C. Moorhead, MD, (Chair, ABMS Board of Directors); Sheldon Horowitz, MD; Iahn Gonsenhauser, MD; Daniel Schumacher, MD, MeD; front row from left: Stephanie Yi, MD, MS; Michelle Lin, MD, MPH; Valerie Parisi, MD; Lois Margaret Nora, MD (ABMS President and CEO); John G. Clarkson, MD (ABMS Board); Thomas E. Norris, MD, (ABMS Board). Not pictured: Joan Ko, MD

The 2014-2015 Scholars and their Research